↑ Return to About Us


The Role of our Governing Body

Governors have considerable responsibilities .  Governors don’t exercise them as individuals, but work as part of a Governing Body – a corporate team.  They do not manage schools – This is the role of the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team, but they do oversee the development of the school- their main aim being to always provide a high standard of education for all pupils, of all abilities..

The Governing Body has three main roles

  • Strategic – The GB sets the general direction of the school, looking at how it should best develop. 
  • Critical Friend – A Governing Body  should work with the Headteacher and create a clear understanding of the challenges faced in managing a school.
  • Accountability – A school is a business and its stakeholders are the learners.  The Governing Body must have a professional attitude and use its collective skills to benefit the learners.  It must gather views, ask questions and decide what is best for the school.

Governors serve a term of 4 years. Their roles and responsibilities are decided upon annually.

Governor List as of September 2017

Governors Register of interests 2017

Designated staff and governors linked roles sept 17-18

Chair of Governors

  • Mrs Catherine Tierney

Term of Office 01/09/2018 – 31/08/2022


Parents (2) Elected on to GB by parents.

  • Mr Sean Randall    Resources and Pay Committees (chair) / H&S / Policies/ Maths

Term of office    14/10/2014 – 13/10/2018     Attendance 3/6 FGB  5/5 Resources



  •  Mrs Carly McDowell    School Improvement Committee / History / Geography / MFL / PPG group

Term of office    06/01/2015 – 05/01/2019    Attendance   3/6 FGB  5/5 Improvement



LEA Governors (1) Appointed by the local Authority




Staff (2) Other than the Headteacher elected onto the GB by staff.


  • Ms Karen Jones   

       Term of Office 01/01/2018 30/06/2022





Co-opted Governors (10) Appointed to the GB by governors according to skill sets.


  • Mr James French      School Improvement Committee/PE

                                             Term of office 17/06/2016 – 16/06/2020  Attendance ( New Governor) 1/1 FGB


  • Mrs Margaret Notley   School Resources Committee / Grievance Chair

                                               Term of office   28/09/2012 – 27/09/2016    Attendance   6/6 FGB   4/5 Resources


  • Mr Mark Hessey    School Resources Committee / Science

                                               Term of office  15/02/2016 – 14/02/2020    Attendance   (New Governor)  3/3 FGB  2/2 Resources


  • Ms Jo Marshall                School Improvement Committee / Governors in school co-ordinator

                                                  term of office                                Attendance (New Governor)



Associate Governors – Appointed by the GB for a specific skill/role.

  •  Helen Longstaff
 Children’s Centre Group  Manager
  • Clerk to Governors


Designated Staff and Governors linked roles Sept 17-18

Governors Register of interests 2017 

If you wish to contact the School Governors the email is chair@woolenwickjm.herts.sch.uk

If you would like to make an appointment.thiscan also be done through the school office.

If you would like more information in becoming a governor please see here

Useful websites for Governors  click here

The Woolenwick Junior School Governing Body is made up of 15 members, a mixture of staff, parents/carers, members appointed by the Local authority and members from the wider community. They all have a specific area or subject they are linked to.

Governing body minutes are available free of charge to parents from the school office.

For the latest Governing Body Annual Statement 16/17 here

For a  comprehensive list of our policies click here

School performance tables can be found here.